Bargaining for a salary increase

So I am very young and yes i have a lot to lear… i thought i should put it out there before all of you oldies start commenting … So I have been working at one of the big five banks in Canada for 2 years (on and off) as a commercial banker co-op. My director is very stingy and loves being under hid budget specially when it comes to salary and what not. Till now he has been underpaying me (compared to some market rates I found on the Bank website) and using the excuse that I am co-op student. Now he is in the process of preparing an offer for me (full time), and I have a feeling that he is going to use the “Recession” Excuse to f@ck me over again, even thought in Canada things getting better and some economist are even sayin we are in the recovery stage. So since i do have a LOT TO LEARN, can you guys give me some pointers of how i can pin this guy down in order to try and get what i deserve! GO!!!

Tough market right now, that is true. But ya, I know these types, they want to low ball all their employees so they can show how much they are saving the company and get big fat pay themselves. Then everyone quits or they just have sucky loser employees. Usually the only way is to get an outside offer and jet, and you need to do so before you find yourself making 50% less than market, cause that is a big hole to climb out.

Point out the fact that the Canadian banking is fundamentally sound and arguably in the best shape in the world (that is what my bank told me) I would start looking at other places if I were you. I understand the challenges we face right now but I hate dealing with f*@(ers who nickel and dime their employees.