Boring Career Planning Thread

Speaking of Corporate Finance….

How much is it worth when trying to transition to an investment focused career?

I got a job in corporate finance at a top 20 US bank out of school (state school, 3.75 GPA).

I’m studying to take GMAT in January, mock tests put me around 710-730.

Will take Level I in June and plan to proceed through Level III in the next few years while building on what is already (I believe) a good start in getting some corporate finance experience.

Three years or so from now I plan to go back for MBA.

Any comments on that track that I’ve set for myself?

be more specific. exactly what kind of “investment focused career” are you targeting? because some jobs value an MBA, and other jobs value the CFA charter.

Sounds like you’re doing exactly what thousands of others are doing. I’m not mocking, I did pretty much the exact same thing except I did the CFA/MBA concurrently (I’m impatient). Only suggestion I could make is to network like crazy while you’re doing all this. One good connection goes a long way to compliment all that work you’re doing. GL

I have a feeling that he doesn’t care what the specific job is, as long as it is prestigious and pays a lot of money, which isn’t unreasonable. As for “comments on that track that I’ve set for myself”, I’m not sure what there is to say that’s not already obvious. Obviously, there are a bunch of people who do IB or something similar out of college. The MBA competition will consist of these people. If you’re coming from a corporate finance background, you’re only going to get a job after the first pick goes to the people with more relevant experience. So, most likely what will happen is that you get a so-so post MBA job and then have to work harder than everyone else for a number of years before hopefully catching up.