Boston College vs Northeastern MBA

Hello, I was accepted into Boston College and Northeastern for their MBA programs. I did not receive any scholarships for BC, but I did get a 25k per year (50K total) for Northeastern. I was looking for peoples perspectives on which program to go to (especially if you have completed either program). I am in my mid-20s, and want to get in asset management after the program. I have a 3 years of work experience in commercial banking, nothing to exciting or analytical. Like I said before id like to get into wealth/asset management and which is why im pursuing the CFA lvl (2 in June). My undergraduate school was your average private college but I had a high GPA. With my current work experience and undergraduate degree I have not had any luck and securing a job within AM. Thank you,

Does this help? http://www.businessweek.com/interactive_reports/mba_pay_the_haul_of_lifetime.html

Within Boston, it seems like BC has a better alum network, esp in the asset mgmt space. Immediately moving into the “prime” positions i.e. research or port mgmt will still be extremely tough as you’ll still be competing with people w experience and/or top school MBAs. Mid/back office will def be doable. Outside of Boston, I’m not sure that either of these will help you break into the industry.

why isnt UoP on that list? Harvard probably had to pay bweek mad paper to keep them off the list

BC MBA > NUE MBA You will not get any buy-side recuiting for either one. But BC does have a solid alumni base around Boston in the buy-side but it will still be tough. I think completing the CFA by itself you will have a better chance of breaking into the buy-side then a MBA from either one. If you’re 25, finish the CFA when your 27ish and apply for a top 10-15 program.