Branch Banking

Hi all, I have an offer for the position of a branch manager in the largest bank in India. I understand that this will be a rural/semi-urban branch. I am currently working in Corporate Finance (Treasury/Working Capital Finance) in a large manufacturing organization for the past one year. I have an MBA from a decent local institute and am L2 candidate. Not sure whether to take up this opportunity to get into the bank (The hike in salary will be about 30%) or to wait a little longer where I am. I have just completed my one-year here. My wish is to get into Private Equity but have not been able to make a breakthrough and to be honest there is not much learning in my current role and I am kind of feeling stuck. Thanks for all your valuable advice.

I can’t speak to India, but in the U.S. a job as a branch manager is not likely to land you a job in private equity unless this large bank has a private equity division. In that case you might be able to get a shoe in the door and get some type of internal candidate preference as you apply for positions within the private equity division. If you have a strong accounting background maybe you can land yourself a job working with a large accounting firm that performs valuations of private companies. You might be able to parlay that into a private equity position. I don’t know if a position as a branch manager would count towards your required experience in getting your CFA charter.