Business Analyst/Project work

Has anyone ever worked in the projects office or done business analyst work at a bank? What were your experiences?

i’m a BA at a financial institution (non-bank). i dont know what you mean by “your experiences”.

hey there, I’m also interested in the topic. I was offered a position of BA/Project Manager in the Prime Brokerage division of a top bank. Base salary is great but I’m not sure BA/PM should be my next step. Depending on banks, I understood a BA could either be dedicated to an application or to a Business Line (job I was offered would be BA for a Business Line) what about your current position nolabird? What’s your typical day like? Do you work long hours? Do you take crap from all the project sponsors ? What is it that you like most/least about your job? What are the ex opp after a couple of years? thks

I am a business analyst. i dont really have a typical day… that is the beauty of project work. everyday is different. somedays i am in meetings all day, others i am writing requirements. i could be doing some research or testing. the hours are awesome. i rarely work more than 40 hrs/wk, although it depends on what the project deadlines are, other people’s schedules, if there are any issues etc. my group is a little different… i work a lot on bugs/upgrades so it is a lot of internal small projects and typically my director is the sponsor. there are def some challenges that come w/ the territory (bridging communication gaps is not always easy). the most important thing that i have learned is to ask a lot of questions and learn how to navigate office politics. You need to make a lot of friends and figure out who knows what (subject matter experts)… I’m lucky to be in a highly visible and well-respected area of the company so my favorite thing is the networking that I have been able to do. I deal with people at all levels and it is fairly easy to transition within my company if you know the right people. Most people move from bei