Buyside firm size

How big would you say a buyside firm is with $400-500 AUM? Tiny? Small? Small-Med? How many employees should a firm this size have?

I think the homeless dude sitting around the corner of 53rd and Park runs a $400-500 AUM hedge fund in his coffee cup (he only trades loose change, though).

The homeless dude probably trades weed paper though. Yield = discarded weed that he found in the trash. Daily payments with.

really…that small?

yes. fo’ real.

I am going to take the leap of faith and assume you mean $400-500MM. For a long-only manager that qualifies as tiny. The shops you have heard of have hundreds of billions under management. However, for a hedge fund that isn’t too small - probably about 50th percentile. As for number of employees, I am no expert but lets say you take 1% mgmt fee. That is $4-5MM and wouldn’t pay too many people and cover the costs of running the business. Maybe 10?

assuming you meant $400-500MM as well, tobias is pretty much spot on. i have seen multiple instances where such funds are run by half a dozen people or less.