calling on the buysiders

I am a little new to the job and have a question around discussing your work with the PM. So, when you write a report on a security and present it to the PM, there is usually a meeting to discuss the specifics. Say you sent the report and a brokerage initiated coverage or the PM knew the security really well. Now you made a mistake in one of the segments where you failed to consider some factors due to which your EBITDA is 20-30% lower than what it should be. Or it could be any mistake - your mistake - leading to a real difference in numbers. How do the PM’s usually deal with this? How do you deal with this? Do you apologize and say you will correct it? Is it understood that this will happen sometimes? Yes, the you is me and I have a meeting coming up!

If the You is Me, then shouldn’t I be asking this question? And if the You is Me, then who are You?

Just tell them as soon as you discover the mistake. What’s your alternative? Lie/hide the truth?

you’re one lucky bastard to ahve that job…

Ohai: I will admit and perhaps apologize, but it is very embarrassing! FA: I worked very hard to have this job! I am sure luck played a part too

Tell them right away and work overnight to produce a report without the problem. If it doesn’t change the sign of the recommendation, it may not be a big deal.

find another offsetting error and you’re fine. there’s bound to be one somewhere.

justin88 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Tell them right away and work overnight to produce > a report without the problem. If it doesn’t > change the sign of the recommendation, it may not > be a big deal. ^^^^^^THIS ^^^^

jbaldyga Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > find another offsetting error and you’re fine. > there’s bound to be one somewhere. LOL