Cameras

Any of you goombas into fancy cameras? I’m thinking of getting one to play with. Are mirrorless better now or DSLR? Criteria:

1. Easy for beginners to use, but room to grow with experience.

2. Cost is not really an issue, as long as it’s reasonable (maybe $2k or less - what do these cost anyway?)

3. Preferably not too ostentatios and easy to carry.

4. Likely uses - taking pictures of pets, food, vacations, random interesting things.

5. Need good indoor/low light performance.

Or should I just get an iPhone X?

yoo u gonna be insta model?

I’m by no means an expert and am not up to date with what’s out today to make a recommendation but from what I understand. For mirrorless or DSLR, seems like preference, the industry seems to be headed the mirrorless route with a lot of experienced photographers sticking to DSLR largely based on familiar ergonomics and preference. Supposedly DSLR has better battery life too, but I think that’s marginal. I wouldn’t sweat the choice of body though since it’s easy to swap body’s down the road, especially since that’s where the changes occur and you can just move all your lenses over.

1. Should be most, but taking a class or two up front to learn the basics of the equipment, settings, lighting and maybe get basic familiarity with lightroom or photoshop would dramatically save you a lot of time and energy in the long run, improve your enjoyment / engagement and get you up and running. A lot of people have an interest in this so maybe something to do with the significant other? Plus in the unfortunate case that you have kids this is a really phenomenal skill to have.