Can anyone give me some guidance?

Hello, I am new to the forum. I could really use a little help. I have been intersted in pursuing the CFA for a number of years. I graduated from Northeastern Univeristy in Boston with a BSc in Finance in 2003, I am 35 years old, I need to explain myself a bit, so here goes. I have worked in a number of finance settings from age 16 onward, early as a runner, then as a clerk, in operations for the Harvard University Endowment, all before I got my degree; later I worked for the NYBOT before the ICE bought them I tried to trade oil, gold, currencies, most things with an interst rate orientation after they closed the floor as I couldnt find a new job (I fell in love with the futures market in college, my father was an NYSE member, so I have been pretty damn lucky, it helped me get some of those positions) I got my ass kicked trying to trade those markets online, only after I lost a lot of money did I tune into the fact that I was probably trading against a lot of computers, I am not sure I am a very good trader, I had some huge trades, but lost more than I made in the end. All the exchange consolidation in the last few years and HFT has really rearranged the business, then the mortgage meltdown happened and I was so ashamed of the business at that point, I went back to school, first I wanted to leave the business and pursued org psych, that wasnt for me, so I managed to get accepted back to Northeastern in the engineering program and figured I may as well learn computers since I lost my job to one. Well, school is 50% more expensive than even 10 years ago, so I was running out of money and could see the amount of effort and dedication as well as money it would take to earn another BSc was really going to add up, and somewhere in there, some contrarian thinking kicked in and I realized real estate is going to be a huge opporunity in coming years (probably), why not get a part time job to make a few bucks. I had no problem passing the te