CAPM Rationale

Can someone please clarify this for me because i’m yet to grasp it conceptually? If your required return (CAPM) is greater than actual return, howcome is the security overvalued? The way i think of it is the security is providing less of a return for an equal amount of risk(or beta). On a pricing basis, shouldn’t that make the security undervalued?

Thanks in advance.

Another way of saying this is that your actual return is less than your required return, right? Why is the security overvalued in this case?

I’m no CAPM expert, but would you want to hold on to a stock that provides a return less than the return you require for the amount of risk you are taking? The asset is risky, so it better pay off right? If it doesn’t expect to give you a high return you require based on it’s riskiness, sell it, it’s overvalued.

This relationship seem straightforward to me but maybe I’m not understanding what you’re confused about.

I guess when I think of a return, I relate it to a price. An overvalued security means a higher priced security which means a higher return. This might be the wrong rationale to have here but I don’t know how else to think about it.

I grasp that you’d want the security with the highest return based on it’s risk profile in any given situation. I just don’t understand how the security with the lower return is overvalued.

If you have two securities, one priced at $10, one at $15. Both have betas of 1.5. Any investor would want the $15. I just don’t understand how the $10 security is overvalued.

Again I believe i’m applying the wrong rationale for this so any help will be appreciated.