Career Advice: Healthcare to Investments

Hi all. I would appreciate your feedback on my situation described below:

To start, let me give you a little background on my education and experience- I have passed all three levels of the CFA program in 2018. I have an MBA with a major in Investment Management and 2yrs of Pre-MBA work experience as an investment analyst in a private equity firm in Southeast Asia. My bachelor’s major was in finance as well.

After my MBA, I needed to find a job which was relevant to my degree in the US in order to stay in the US and I joined a healthcare research hospital as a financial analyst. I recently received my green card and moved to California to be close to my wife with another Healthcare provider joining as a Sr. Financial Analyst.

The problem is these roles have no use of my finance knowledge and what I have learnt is really industry specific skills. I want to find a job in the investment management industry or PE or at least in corporate finance where I can use my finance knowledge, and skillset. A position where I can utilize my CFA learnings. However, I am finding it really difficult to find such a job now. All the offers I get or any recruiter call is always from another healthcare provider. Only my recent experience is being considered. I really want to change my job and move into a finance heavy role. Please advise what should be my strategy/ way out.

Thank you so much for your suggestions.

Rome wasn’t built in a day. Do you want to be in sales (client facing) or more analysis-type work? You sound fairly young and with your education, I don’t think you’ll have much trouble finding a job in the finance world.