career advice

I am a new undergrad, CFA Level II candidate. The job hunt is getting hectic and the competition is so stiff out there. Question? Would you take an offer as a Credit Analyst for Commercial Banking with a Local bank… ? help needed plz?? insights anyone?

It depends on what area. Banking is pretty diverse. You could be looking at anything from loans to individuals to leveraged loans to PE firms.

Commercial Banking Analyst?!! you should go for it…they mostly do small-medium business loans and do a lot of financial statement analysis which will be very handy to you and great experience…

thanks guys…Yeah it is a Credit Solutions Analyst position (some of duties include: Financial Modelling , Financial and Credit Analysis and so on)… Just a quick question will this type of career help open doors to investment careers later on? Sorry for this question, I am just very new to the industry and am now, trying to learn about different career paths in the industry.

Your first job could open doors to a lot of things… if you do not want to stay in this long term the underwriting exp and working with and around financial statements can only help… I know guys that start in credit and move up to more RM type roles and PM with credit products

I don’t know where you are in the process. i’m assuming if you are asking this you may have had a few rejections from other jobs you really wanted. If that is the case then this might be a job option. If you haven’t applied a lot of places or if you are still waiting on some other jobs then I’d hold off.

dont think that just because you did not get the ibanking or research job that you hope that its all over… lots of guys are having trouble getting those jobs this year and next… just keep trying but if this makes some sense and a option try to lock it up.

RAwannabeCFA, you give some solid advice everyday. great job