Career Advice

Hi everyone, so far I have picked up a lot on this site, and I’m hoping I can get some insider perspective. I will give a breakdown of my situation. I’m sorry if it is long and detailed, but I would rather list it now to avoid needed specification. I graduated with an undergraduate degree in Finance from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University in 2004. Instead of going into finance I went into sales, specifically mortgage banking. The industry proved very lucrative, which can seem to be all there is to it to a 22 yr old who is making what his father makes and more than his friends who went into finance. After success with a large company I opened my own brokerage with a partner. After marginal success, I began to realize that the “career opportunities” were limited and that I essentially missed using my brain as I had in finance during school. Then the obvious situation with the market helped me confirm my desire to transition back into finance. This is where I need advice/perspective: I am realistic as to the challenges facing someone in my position, primarily the experience factor. I have faced the fact that although I may have been successful in sales, and have professional experience, this doesn’t equate to analytical finance experience, and I am willing to start at an entry level position, even if this means taking a step back regarding my personal income. Basically, I realize that to develop the career in finance that I want, I am going to have to put in the time. Here are my top obstacles I have seen so far: 1. I am in a “limbo” stage at age 25, 3 years out of undergrad, where I am not an “expereinced hire,” but also where the top firms usually hire entry level directly out of undergrad programs. 2. The mortgage industry has a terrible stigma, and differentiating myself as an intelligent, analytical professional from the uneducated car salesman is difficult without a foot in the door or a person-to-person meeting. 3. Although everyo