Career Advice

Ok, I know this is another one of those “Help me out with my career path” questions, but this seems to be the best place that I have found for my situation. So any thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated. Here it is: I graduated with a BA in Secondary Education with a Mathematics Major. While finishing up my education, I got involved in Land Surveying and enjoyed it so much that I decided to pursue this career since I enjoyed that amount of math involved. I am now 30 years old and the last several years I have been reading about and getting very interested in Finance, Investments, and the Stock Market. So much so that I am now being pulled into a new direction for my life, but really have no clue where to begin. I know that I really enjoy Stock and Investment Analysis and from everything that I have read, obtaining the CFA is right up my alley. I really want to just sign up for the June exam, but am not sure if I am just “jumping the gun.” Should I first search out a new job in the finance world, just to get started? Should I go back to school and earn a Masters in Finance? Or, would passing a level or two of the CFA exams show to potential employers that I am serious? If I do go after a new job in Finance, what would be a good entry level position. I just don’t know where to begin going from my current position in Land Surveying to my ultimate dream job of Portfolio Management or Mutual fund Manager, or something else. Any thoughts about my situation? Any help to get me pointed in the right direction would be of tremendous help. Thanks.

Sorry man, CFA won’t really help you, you’ll be competing for entry level jobs with people like me. And I already have L2 down. Not to say you can’t do it, but you have knocks against you, in the form of age, and lack of relevant experience. If you’re really interested in investing, invest your own money.