Career Advise

All- I have recently been offered a position on the Statistical Arbitrage desk as a Trading Assistant in one of the bigger hedge funds. I currently work in a similar capacity in a bulge bracket IB. Even though the compensation that they are offering in almost 30% jump from my current level, I am more excited to work on the buy side due to the exposure and the unspoken opportunity to move up within the firm. The firm invests employing the following startegies: - Statistical Arbitrage - Convertible Arbitrage - Relative value - Event driven A little bit about myself, I have an undergrad in EE, Masters in Finance and am currently a Level III candidate. I have been trying to break into research, Portfolio management kind of roles but interviews have been really hard to come by. I was initially thinking that I should wait out for a better role after I am done with Level III next year but with this offer sounds like an interesting opportunity to get my foot into the door. My question was whether it would be a good idea to actually take up the offer or should I keep applying for the field I am trying to break into (research/Portfolio management). Also, would passing Level III enhance my chances to break into the field considering I have absolutely no experience in the area. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.