Career change and CFA

Hi guys,

I can read many good answers here - thanks.

I will briefly explain you my situation and hope you can give me some good advices:

I graduated in engineering in 2006, I worked as an engineer for 4 years and in 2010 i decided to start a graduate diploma in finance (fast track conversion course) with the final purpose to start a career in investment banking. I didn’t do a Master because i didn’t have the money for it…

2010 was a bad year to find a job and i had to accept a job in insurance hoping to develop some skills I could transfer to the investment sector. I am 32 and It’s now a bit more tha 4 years that i am working in insurance and i don’t really like it so, it’s time to stick with the original plan and move on.

I passed the CFA L1 in june on my first try and I am now a CFA L2 candidate but after few applications, and “chats” they keep saying that they need to find a sector that fits with my previous expereience…quite frustrating looks like banks don’t hire you unless you are doing exactly the job you are applying for in a different company.

Why is HR so blind??? As an engineer i had exposure to negotiations with institutional clients, I was developing mathematical models and managing projects whereas in insurance I am technically supporting the front office, analyse companies (risk) and again, develop models…why am i struggling with my expereicne and qualification to break in?

Do you have any advice? What kind of poistion you, in my shoes, would apply for? How would yo market yourself?

Thanks for any good advice,

Wally

You have a bachelors degree and have experience in insurance. Are you really suprised you’re not treated like an All-Star IB?