Career Change Realistic?

Howdy folks, Great forum. I’ve seen numerous posts asking about CFA and career changes, but not quite applicable to my situation. I thought I’d see what you folks think. I’m 30 years old with a B.S. in Textile Chemistry. I’ve been working in the textile industry for a little over 8 years now. I started in dye house supervision on 3rd shift and have worked my way up to Dyehouse Department Manager and Plant Chemist. (5 promotions). I make around $50k which is fine. But recently, my plant was sold, everyone got a 10% pay cut, we have zero paid holidays, our 401k plan was dropped, our health insurance rates went up by about 20% while the coverage went in the toilet. When I started with this company 7 years ago it had 12 plants and around 15000 employees. The plant I work at had around 700 employees. The company now has 3 plants and about 3500 employees. My plant is now a separate private company with about 90 employees. Layoffs like this in the south east US are very common in textiles. Because I have a degree already I am not eligible for TAA benefits. (A retraining program where the government pays your tuition and extended unemployment benefits.) Anyway, I have always had a strong interest in finance. The CFA path looks like a cost-effective way for me to change careers, without having to spend the kind of money and class-room time that I would for an MBA. The big questions: Can I realistically get a job (assuming I pass Level I in December 2008) with a resume that will have nothing else related to finance? I would love to move into finance, possibly as an analyst. I am married, with a mortgage, and children on the horizon, so I need to maintain something close to my current salary. I would like to get a position after Level I so I can begin to get the work experience requirements met while studying for Levels II and III. I apologize for the novel and thank you in advance for your thoughts.