Career Change

I’m an MBA graduate (and BSc. life sciences) with experience in managing ERP, CRM projects. I’m a PMP certificate holder as well. My background is atypical of many CFA charterholders. Recently, I’ve had a passionate change-of-heart and enrolled in the CFA program with full intentions to tread down this path as a long-term career change. I’m 29 years old. My concern isn’t so much of whether I’ll find a job or not, but whether I’ll be able to grasp the material and pass the exams. I’m due to take L1 in June '08. Can anyone shed some realistic light on how difficult this is going to be for someone who doesn’t have any financial anlaysis experience nor a long-term finance education? Remember, I enrolled because I felt I could do it. But how easily?

It is as they say on their (CFA Institute’s) site: minimum 250 hours of study time, but more likely as many of us may attest to you’ll end up with something closer to 300-350 hours of study time. Maybe you’ll want to consider backing up your studying efforts with some extra material (such as additional notes, teaching, questions and so forth). To me, I would feel it is a bit like whether or not to follow the lectures of a university class and whether or not to do practice tests before the exam. How difficult this will be for you is impossible for anyone else to know, only you can know what you’re capable of doing. Hope this was of some use to you.