Career Guidance

Hello,

Looking for some career advice or guidance. I recently graduated college (22yrs old) from UGA with a Int. Business and Economics degree. I was not studious at all in the past and finished with a 3.25 with poor grades the first 2 years of school. I decided to break into the IB or Portfolio Management space late in my college life and was not able to find good summer internship programs at large institutions.

I started studying for the CFA Level I in March and passed in the 90th percentile, and now going to work for Level II. Also, I am currently starting a financial modeling certificate through U Penn Coursera to better my excel and modeling skills. I currently work in the WM arm of a bulge bracket bank working with emerging affluent accounts as a financial advisor. The FA training program is a bit slow for my pace. I enjoy the work of a financial advisor and can see myself as a financial advisor for a branch office group in the future, but interested in working in IB/Capital Markets/Portfolio Analysts positions to gain some experience in investment analysis.

I understand IB classes for next year start to fill up in the next coming months, but do not know if I should apply now or look for something off-cycle, or if I’m even a qualified candidate for an entry level analyst position. I’m not too fond of the idea of applying for new jobs 2 months in to my new job as I do enjoy my office. However, I’m turning to this forum to see if anyone has recommendations/guidance on how I should approach my job search.

Thanks