career switch

Hi Guys, I really dont know if it is a career switch. I have been working in Fidelity International for last 3 years in Customer Service operations. I wish to move to Asset Management as a Investment Analyst. Although Fidelity has a policy of internal movements, however it requires an MBA degree or full CFA completed. With the job its becoming difficult to do CFA. So I am planning to do MBA. Can anyone please suggest whether I should for one year or two year MBA. They say to change careers one requires two year MBA and to rise in same field you require one year MBA. Based on this logic if I want to become operations Manager i should go for one year and if I wish to do research i should go for two years. According to one website wetfeet if one wants to move into Financial research an experience is operations, sales or marketing in Investment company is helpful. So can i use my three years of experience in operations to do one year MBA to get into Financial research. OR should I go for two years MBA. Anyways i would be going for CFA after my MBA. Please suggest what would be right while I am already in the company and want to work in investment research??

From your description sounds like you want to do 2 year MBA. Does it matter what school you get your degree from? Have you taken/passed any of the CFA levels yet? if not I would suggest you at least write level I in June

if you can get FIDO to pay for it, do the part time @ BU and switch in 2-3 years. MBA is not enough these days, you need both MBA and CFA.

This just doesn’t sound like a very driven person to me. Why should you manage anyone’s assets when there are tons of driven people out there (in particular, people who don’t think “With the job its becoming difficult to do CFA”) who have been laid off? I think your chances of success in this are pretty small.