Career Switching to the Investment Profession

Hi,

I am an IT professional working in the Financial Industry with more than 5yrs of experience. I work for a reputed organization and I am on work visa, working in the US.

I am Level 2 candidate in the CFA program. I eventually want to make a shift in to the investment industry.

My major issue is the VISA for working post the profession switch.

I do not mind entering at a lower leverl, I am ready to work my way up the ladder.

I have spoken to a couple of Charterholders, who have adviced me on the unique knowledge i posses - a bridge between the IT and the business side ( I would say a typical Business Analyst role but I know the technical aspect of it too ).

Any guidance on how to go about in switching my career and which firms I might need to contact or check out.

Thank you for your patience and time taken to suggest me.

Regards,

Ganesh

what are you interested in?

Research, Banking, Trading?

Take a number, there are probably tens of thousands of people trying to do the same

Sadly, this is very true. It is extremely difficult.

Ganesh…

there are a few thousand asset management “firms” just in NYC… its not difficult to work in finance, but dont expect to pass the three cfa exams and work at the broad st office for goldman.

Sorry man, it’s going to be very difficult for you to make a move, especially given your visa. There are US citizens with CFA levels passed that are competing for the jobs you want.

Not saying you cannot do it, but it’s just that the financial industry is different from other industries. Here small numbers of people handle huge amounts of money, and as a result, there’s a shortage of quality positions and oversupply of applicants.

Thank you all for replying and providing your inputs.