CBV Chartered Business Valuator

Has anyone completed the CBV designation or currently pursuing? I just sat for CFA Level II and am waiting for results. I intend to start the CBV course while working on CFA Level III.

How well will the CFA have prepared me for CBV? I have no business course experience from university as I was a Math major. Would it be wise to pursue additional accounting education?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

It’s easy compared to LII. The CBV is more about learning rote valuation procedures than finance theory. There is more detail on DCF, Market, and Cost methods, DLOM, cost of capital, and market data sources.

Knowing more accounting would help, as financial statement adjustments are one of the key aspects of deriving FCF.

I passed the CBV challenge exam-- was 400 Q, but decided instead to attain the AICPA version- the ABV since I am a CPA.

The CBV is a quick and dirty way to pick up a BV designation.

Before five minutes ago, I had never heard of the CBV. I googled it to see what it’s about.

It looks like another run-of-the-mill business valuation program. Doesn’t really look like it offers anything more than the others.

The IRS has specifically said that it recognizes four BV credentials–CVA, ABV, CBA, and ASA. If you have any of those, the IRS will recognize you as having a valid credential. Any other credential is open to scrutiny (including CFA).

That being said, I wouldn’t consider any business valuation credential other than the four listed above. (And ABV is limited to CPA’s, so that limits you to three.)

One good note about CBV–it is holding a joint conference with ASA this year, so maybe it’s not as fourth-rate as I originally thought.

It’s basically the ABV for Canadians if I remember correctly.

Thank you for the help and sorry for the confusion. I can understand why the IRS does not recognize the CBV as it is a Canadian recognized designation.

Calvol…why did you start the CBV if you are American?