Certified Financial Techincian

Hi ppl, i am an FX Trader in a SWF, and hve completed the 3 levels for the CFA exam. was thinking of adding tech analysis to my skill sets…anybody s got idea of CFTe program and whether its better than the CMT…

This has been discussed over and over here. You might try a search – but then again you may not find anything since it hasn’t come up for awhile. The general consensus is that neither designation is very useful. If you work on the fundamentally based side of the business, you probably don’t hold a lot of faith in technicals. If you work as a technical trader (or just trader in general) you probably don’t need a designation. And if you are trying to break into trading, a designation will not help you. So what’s the point? Just my opinion.

I think the consensus was that the letters won’t help all that much, but - assuming you think that technical analysis has some validity (I do), the material in the CMT could be useful. I gather that the CMT isn’t as brutal a process as the CFA, which is nice.

I have the CMT designation from the Market Technician’s Association. My impression is that the MTA has more “currency” than IFTA (at least in North America): published analysts, NYSE/NASD recognition, etc. The CMT is not as brutal as the CFA, and as a trader, you’ll likely find the material interesting and relevant. Good luck!

I just got all my books for the CMT Level 1 in October. So excited! With access to the Market Technician’s Association site, I just watched a video by Prof. Andrew Lo of MIT. Interesting connections between behavioral finance, quantitative finance, and technical analysis.

How much does it cost to do this? I don’t care so much about the designation, but I’d like to learn the material, as long as it’s laid out in a logical format.