CFA Experience - Insurance Analyst

Hello Everyone. I am an insurance company analyst with an undergraduate degree in accounting and a Master’s Degree in Personal Financial Planning with an interest in pursuing the CFA designation subsequent to finishing another designation that I am currently pursuing. However, I do have a question(s) regarding the experience requirements for the CFA. According to the CFA Institute, one must have 4 years (48 months) of experience in “evaluating or applying financial, economic, and/or statistical data as part of the investment decision-making process; supervising persons who conduct such activities; or teaching such activities” and “at least 50% of your time should be spent directly involved in the investment decision-making process or producing a work product that informs or adds value to that process. Work must be full time and can be earned before, during, or after participation in the CFA Program”.

I currently work for the Insurance Division under a State Department of Business Regulation. My main concentration is in “Foreign Company Licensing/Analysis” and secondary to that is “Market Conduct Analysis” with duties & responsibilities as follows:

1. Foreign Company Licensing:
  • Foreign Company Licensing is the process of analyzing and determining if a foreign insurance company (an insurance company selling policies in a state other than the state in which they are incorporated or domiciled) is eligible to be considered for a license to transact insurance business within another jurisdiction.