CFA Fees are WAY too high

It costs $475 to renew all my annual membership fees. This is ridiculously too high, even if my firm pays them. Where is this money going?

It should be $200 or less, IMO.

The CFA isn’t worth that much IMO. I regret taking the exams because it took away from my career development. Plus, I have an MBA from a school that is more prestigious than the CFA. I’m thinking about not even using the CFA designation anymore. I no longer put it on my emails. It’s only on my business cards and reports. If I could go back in time, I would tell myself not to bother with the CFA…to instead study for the GMAT and doing well at work.

What are your thoughts? What do you think the dues should be in $?

I’m betting your job isn’t in ER or AM ?

+1

Aren’t the dues $275, or are you including some local society fees? I think that’s pretty reasonable. If you feel you’re not at least breaking even on the value it adds to you professionally, I believe you can become inactive for a period of time to see if you miss it or not.

Personally, I’m hard pressed to think of a career path that would lead you to getting the charter and not benefiting from it.

I think OP is just bitter his job doesn’t benefit from the charter. Why would anyone give a damn about how expensive the fees are if your company pays for you?

“less than $0.75 a day!”

yeah, seriously… if your making over 150k per year… and complaining about $300… cheap

Maybe Sally Struthers can do a commercial to help raise funds to pay CFAI dues.

I can see where the original poster is coming from to a certain extent. I found the material I studied for the CFA exams to be very useful and helpful for my career. I don’t get anything like as much reward out of the membership. My main interaction with the CFAI now is deleting the endless spam they seem to feel the need to bombard my inbox with. There so much that I am amazed I even noticed the reminder e-mail about fees.