CFA for jobs in corporate finance: business analyst/financial analyst

I work in corporate finance now and most of the people there are good employees but not entrepeneurial or super ambitious. They’ll work 50 hours a week, but not 80. They’ll be happy with 75k a year where most of you want double, or even triple that. There’s a dude in Treasury that told me that the CFA is well respected for treasury jobs, but I’m not in treasury.

We have like 14 people in our finance/business analyst roles and 20 people in accounting. In the finance team, only 1 guy has his CPA and 3 people have their MBA (one tier 2 and two lackluster schools). Nobody has their CFA or is even thinking about it.

1. Which parts of the CFA charter would be most relevant for success in this role?

2. If I was a manager in 6 years, how would I convince my fresh recruits to pursue the CFA exam for a corporate finance job?

I’m committed to finishing my CFA journey, but it’d be a lot easier if I knew more about what I was fighting for.

This thread is relevant to my interests as well. Good to have another corporate finance guy here on the board

This really depends on where you are employed as a corporate finance analyst. Public or private company? Big company or small company? Is the finance group a support function of the company or an integral part in decision making?

1. I have yet to take level 3 but I would say level 2 would be the most appropriate for corporate finance, at least in my perception of CF jobs. Project financing, long term forecasting, rationing and reporting (if public) mixed with accounting and a dash of analytics.

2. I would say to the new recruits, even if you don’t envision plan on being at xyz company 5 years from now, being a CFA charterholder still will and no matter how many new people try to get the charter, a charterholder vs a non charterholder ceteris paribus is always a plus in my book.

^ agreed.