CFA for non-financial undergrad

Hey all, Been reading many posts over the last while, trying to get a bearing of the CFA and its overall place in the world. I found out about it through auditing financial management classes at school, and the prof really recommended it. I have a degree in biology and wondering if I’ll get hammered by it, due to lack of financial areas. I’m thinking of trying out for the june 2008 exam and if its not my thing then…ok but I’ve always loved how the financial world worked and I thought this might be a great route. Any thoughts from people who don’t have a history in finance would be great or any thoughts would be MUCH appreciated as I’m days away I think from signing up. Thanks!

I have a degree in human biology with a minor in math and I earned my charter. Willy

From what I hear (I’ve got a finance background), it could take a good 400 hours of study for a person with a non-finance background to adequately prepare for L1. They usually recommend 250 hours for the typical candidate with a finance background. So when making your study budget, I’d say budget for about 400 hours. It’s definitely doable.

Bio major, art history minor Got first job for asset manager in SF Bay Area, years before attempting the L1 Passed all 3 levels, spending right around 300 hours at each level, with the most at L2 You’ll actually see a lot of things from bio in the quant analysis section of the exam (eg. chi-squared, t-tests, ANOVA). If you’re in the profession now, that can only help you. If you’re trying to break into investment management by getting those three magical letters behind your name, be prepared to work your tail off.

it can definitely be done. i think coming from a non-finance background is an advantage since you’re actually learning a lot of new things which make it very interesting. of course, you’ll have to adjust to a new way of thinking but that is all good.