CFA/FRM overlap?

For those of you who have taken the CFA exams (or at least 1 or 2 levels) and the FRM: Is there any overlap in the material? 250 hours is recommended for study time, but I’m wondering if someone who has passed all 3 levels of the CFA would be able to do it in less. I figure after the CFA, I can knock out the PRM with approximately 30-50 hours of study (the first two of the four exams are waived for CFA charterholders). If I could pass the FRM with less than 100 hours study I’d likely take it, but otherwise I might just leave it at CFA, PRM, especially considering the PRM and FRM are rather redundant.

can you use ‘search’ to find the relevant threads and post pointers here?

I had passed CFA lvl 2 before I did FRM. I was totally underprepared for the exam. I used schweser and I thought I studied quite enough. scored 80%+ with Schweser sample exams but guess 50% on the actual exam day. I passed but still felt that the exam was much tougher than CFA lvl 2. Studying for lvl 3 CFA, I find that there is about 30% of FRM curriculum that I learnt from CFA.

Unless you know a lot of stuff about risk, I don’t think you would be very likely to pass FRM with 100 hrs of study. It’s getting to be a tough exam.

I totally agree with Mr. JDV. I just received and organized all the materials: paid core readings, free core readings, and Jorion’s handbook…and there’s an absolutely ridiculous amount if you are planning to go through it all. Not aiming to optimize (too much) in the effort expended vs. passing probability space, but rather to learn as much as I can since I think it’s intrinsically fascinating stuff. I have a bit of math and graduate physics background, but know absolutely nothing about risk, neither practically nor theoretically…so I’m planning for a wild ride and charging full force from now until November.

hi boston, approx. how many pages total are all the readings for the FRM?