CFA level 1 only - non-finance background

Hi all - new to this site. Thanks in advance for your feedback and perspectives.
About me:
I just got my first job in corporate strategy. I have no background in accounting or finance. None. I’m considering attempting the CFA level 1 in August, 2021. I am considering CFA level 1 because I want to pursue a career in strategy and general management. I do not plan to take levels 2 / 3. I do not plan on a career in portfolio management, nor do I want to be an equity analyst. I am hoping attempting CFA level 1 is a great way to acquire a base of financial knowledge that is sufficient for strategy and general management work.

My questions for the group are:

1. I have no background in accounting or finance. None. I’ve never taken a single accounting or finance class. That said, is Kaplan Schweser going to be sufficient, presuming I put in the time? (300-350 hours of study) If it is likely not sufficient, what else would be typically required to pass?

2. Is Kaplan Schweser considered the standard exam prep? I understand there are other options, but so far 3 people have pointed me to Kaplan.

Thanks again in advance

I’m going to be roasted for this, but if you are not planning on becoming a CFA and don’t need to take the exams to satisfy some educational requirement, then it is probably not worth it. The exams are $1,000 (well, about $500 if you register super-early) and they require substantial investment of your time (because there is too much material to go through). Just buy books instead.

CFA main strength is portfolio management (edit: and equities). While the exams cover other topics such as financial math, it does so at a very superficial level. Study notes in general also don’t do a very good job in teaching the material - they often give summaries with very little explanation of where a formula came from. Their objective is to make you pass the exams, not necessarily learn the material.