CFA Level-1 Preparation for IT Person

Hi, I am an IT professional . I have enrolled for level-1 Dec-2010 and taken stalla and finding the economics section bit overwhelming. Can you guys share on the type of questions asked on economics-is it a mixture of both problems and theory or theory alone? How is stalla material? Many Thanks for sharing your thoughts. REgards, ABhijit

Have you taken first year level of micro and macro economics? The official CFA textbook Volume 2 (Economics) state candidates are expected to know the basic knowledge of micro and macro economics at first year university level. If you have not taken these courses at school, or have been a long while ago. You are better to read any economics textbook to those topics before you continue. The CFA-suggested economics book by Michael Parkin is a very good book, and it was the textbook for my micro and macro economics courses. You can read the corresponding chapters in the Parkin book listed on the CFA Vol2 book. I cannot comment on the Stalla economics section since I have not seen it. But if I see a topic in any external study material that is confusing and overwhelming, I would just read the CFA books and come back to the study material for EOC questions.

THanks for your reply. After reading various discussion threads here, I am bit confused about the priority I should give to the study materials in hand. I was thinking of focusing on the CFA material and going through it religiously and back it up with the stalla and classes that I will attend. Do you think I need a better plan. As always, thanks for the thoughts and feedbacks. Regards