CFA Level 1 Study Plan Help

Hello All,

I have just signed up for the CFA Level 1 for for June 2013. I am a recent grad currently working a full time job that invovles a long commute like many of you guys.

My CFA books should arrive sometime this week and I wanted help from you guys in order to construct a study plan. I have 4 months to ready to ace this devil, my background is I am a graduate of Economics. I have basic knowledge of financial statements, statistics and other financial concepts like bond duration and convexity. I am at a bit of a disadvantage as I was not a finance major in college.

My plan is to read the cirriculum books that I will receive and then supplement them with schweser notes for each section that I read. While doing the end of chapter questions.

I want to finish this with about 3 weeks left before the exam. Which will leave me time for review and a few practice exams.

What do you guys think of this plan? I know its not very structured that is why I joined this forum in order to get some more advice and tips from you guys. Any help is appreciated, and thanks in advance.

I would chill out on the CFAI curriculum. At this point, you should be focusing on the notes, supplemented by the CFAI curriculum. This should not be a problem for you given your backround.

How would you reccomend supplementing the CFAI cirriculum with my notes?

Study my notes, do my end of chapter questions in the notes. And after that also do the end of chapter questions in the CFAI.

Ya i kind of figured reading the entire CFAI cirriculum would be a daunting task considering the sheer amount of reading that is.

my advice: forget about the CFAI material. You don’t need it. Just read the Schweser notes, do QBank, and do Schweser practice exams. With your background, passing this exam should be pretty straightforward but you need to put in the time. Main advice though, throw away the CFAI material for L1. It’s a waste of time.