CFA Level II hiatus

Ok this may be my first post, I have been lurking for a couple of years. Why haven’t I posted, well I guess because I have been studying CFA so much for 3 years. I have a question for the senior members or members that have completed the CFA program or anyone who might have any worthwhile insight for that matter.

Have you, or do you know of anyone who worked diligently on their CFA and at some point due to work, personal reasons, or lets be frank “burn out” stepped away from the CFA table for a year and was able to recharge and get back on track to successfully completing the program and achieving the coveted CFA Charter?

Just a little back ground on my question, I am a middle aged father, in my 40’s. It took me 2 shots at Level 1. The first year, I was a deer in head lights and hadn’t been faced with the volume of financial information or intensive study for years. I also was coaching basketball that whole year, so it was a pretty desperate effort in that I was managing work, coaching, and CFA studies. I ended up band 8. The next year I put in another 400 hrs. and passed. This year, I was motivated and put in another 500 hrs. and did not test well, got about a 50%, practice tests were 55% to 60%. There were some difficult areas, I spent much time on that were not tested. Then there were the areas that didn’t have time and risked not being tested. I studied very hard, majority of the curriculum was covered. It was a noble effort. Understanding the way these financial pieces fit and their purpose of application, “big picture” comes easy to me. Also, have very strong capacity to put in time to focus on something I want, “work ethic”. My weakness is memorizing little details and nuances, so it is what it is.