CFA NEWBIE'S

Is it fate, bad luck or outright bad timing to those newbie’s who were hoping to break into finance? Is there any of you who has lost hope before even beginning the journey? Any idea of how long this madness lasts, and how it affects your resolve to pursue the Charter? Any reason to keep hoping?

I hope many people do give up. So when I sit for my L1 in Dec I don’t get overwhelmed by a gazillion people fighting for a seat.

If your just starting out, I would say best bet is to move to a city like Cleveland or Minneapolis.

cleveland is def hiring…I left the midwest to come back to the east coast and am paying dearly for that move… I have not give up. i have some previous experience and know we will cycle out of this just like everything else.

JOE2010 Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > Is there any of you who has lost hope before even > beginning the journey? Any idea of how long this > madness lasts, and how it affects your resolve to > pursue the Charter? Any reason to keep hoping? You’ll probably be just fine but it might require some extra effort on your side. When I graduated from university back in the 1990’s a finance company folded that very month, and this later led up to a few major banks barreling toward bankruptcy. Needless to say it was next to impossible to break into finance at that point in time. Unemployment leapt from 1.6% that year to as high as 12% in t+2 (years). I don’t remember this, but later (maybe t+4) it had turned and I didn’t find it overwhelmingly difficult to land a job. You might very well get your charter just in time for t+3.

I am trying for corporate financial analyst position now, but I am not sure if that leads me towards long term goal of equity research/money management. Do you guys have any idea? As a corporate fianancial analyst, capital budgeting, raising capital, doing analysis for acquisitions may be involved. By the way, do you think I could use this experience for CFA charter?