CFA or FRM/PRM.

Hi, I am currently a 4th year student double majoring in mathematics and finance in a Canadian University. I was doing my research and I am very interested in taking the exams for CFA or FRM/PRM. I know CFA is for asset/investment management and equity research while FRM/PRM is more involved with risk management/ credit risk. I was wondering if getting one of these designation will restrict myself from certain types or jobs. Like can I work in risk management if i have CFA or work in investment management while holding FRM/PRM designation. I am currently not sure what field I really want to get into. I really do love both math and finance so. Thanks for the help =)

FRM/PRM not very useful to get into investment management (though won’t hurt). CFA quite useful in risk management (what do you think risk managers do? Risk management is the most generalist area in all of finance. I’ve managed risk on stocks, junk debt, bank debt, exotic derivatives, trillions and trillions of dollars in futures and options, bankruptcy claims, mutual funds, FX forwards, convert arb, stat arb, etc… You need to know stuff about everything. Frankly, I think CFA > FRM/PRM for risk management particularly with a quant background as you should be able to leapfrog most of the FRM/PRM material into real quant stuff that they can’t put on the exam because then nobody would take it). Of course, you could enjoy your life a little. Get a job. Figure out whether you want to be in investments at all as it is a seriously depressed field right now. Have you considered dental school? You could try other things in life, like running a marathon or climbing Mt. Ranier both of which feel better to accomplish than getting these certifications and are much cooler.

Everest would be cool too.