CFA + Political Science/International Relations

Hi, I am a full time student and done with bachelors in Finance and now will be apearing for CFA level 1 this december. I have deep interest in politics and i just want to know will it be a plus if i do Masters in Global Affairs or International Studies along with CFA to make a career in financials analysis, I have an idea that there is a relation between politics and finance but i just want to know if it will be professionally practical to have this kind of education. thanx.

No, that political science degree will not help you at all.

The places where political science and IR can help you exist, but they tend to be far less numerous than the number of positions where a run-of-the mill finance degree would help. Don’t expect most people (particularly people on this board) to know where they are.

Part of the problem is that everyone thinks that they can understand politics, but most people are not trained to think systematically about politics, looking it at from different angles, whether it be the interaction of interest groups, game theory, leadership, the role of ideas, how political organizations work, two-level bargaining, etc… People mistake having “an explanation” for political phenomena with having “the explanation” for political phenomena. Most trained political scientists tend to have a preferred framework (institutions, class-conflict, political culture, etc.) but they know how to apply different frameworks, and more importantly, they know that they should be applying different frameworks when analyzing politics. Ordinary people tend to have one particular framework that maybe works a lot of the time, but can’t really analyze anything beyond that. It’s a bit like people who figure that all you need to know for investing is the P/E ratio.