CFA Program Review & Exam/Provider Review By Level--From Charterholder

Haven’t had much time to post this, but thought it could be useful to people studying. I’ll give my overview of how I studied for Levels 1,2, & 3 and which materials I found good and which I thought were either bad or could use improvements.

I’ll just address a few things at the top here because I’ll only briefly touch on them later on.

Cost: The cost for any level shouldn’t be too bad, but a general rule of thumb I have for CFA exams: spend the money. I’d much rather spend an extra 2-3k to pass this exam by having as much good material at my disposal than not, and then failing. We all have different situations both personally and professionally, but that’s just my belief.

Time: Time and mental health are the real enemy with this exam. I assume the vast majority taking this test are gainfully employed with family, friends, significant others, and obligations. We already have limited free time, and CFA will rob you of this for the duration of these tests. Just know that. However, if you are committed to this program, I would 100% recommend putting in the extra effort over whatever you’re doing at a baseline level, because you want this to be over. It’s very tempting to hang out on a Sunday and relax, but finding that extra gear is what this exam is all about. Taking a relaxation/mental health day every now and then is also important in avoiding burnout though. Personally, I think these exams are about perseverance and determination, rather than any sort of perceived investment edge you get. It shows you not only have a baseline level of intelligence, but you’re motivated to do what you do or get to the place you want to be.