CFA Question

Hello: I have a few questions regarding the CFA exam series. I’ve decided that I am going to pursue the charter, rather then MBA school for a few reasons. I’ve eliminated the MBA as an option because 1.) I’m already thirty one with only year of real experience in this sector (I spent six years in the military before four years of college) and 2.) Outside of the technical skills, I am not sure what added value an MBA can give me that real work experience can’t (given the caveat of item (1)). If I was to tart pursuing an MBA now, I would be 34 before (or 35) by the time I graduated with little real work experience. Mind you, I don’t consider the CFA a substitute for the MBA (or vice versa), merely this is the path I think I will follow. I also happen to enjoy the material in the charter. I like the challenge, and I like the problem solving and creative process involved in much of the work. Unfortunately, at my current firm, I can’t get enough technical experience, and there generally aren’t people to show me what I am doing right or wrong with some of my ideas, with one or two possible exceptions. Thus I have decided that the charter is a logical course of action for me. Now, I have two questions: How much time do I need to prepare for Level I? Can I register now (or rather in December) for the June exam and have plenty of time to prepare? I have a BA in Economics from a four year liberal arts school, and I have a fairly decent grasp of some of the concepts described, but I have absolutely no experience in corporate accounting and there are some other weak areas as well. The other question is, what sort of jobs should I expect that I could consider with one to two years of ops experience (and given the above). For me, it’s all about challenge. Money, while important, is not the first priority. If I can’t be challenged all the time, then I get bored and want to move on. Also, I don’t have the strongest academic background, and I am not being modest – I di