cfa readings vs. schweser

i just started studying in last week (just signed up a few weeks). i have a background (work and education) and in many of the subjects in the CFA II… but frankly the amount of material and the nit-picking detail of the CFA readings is starting to make my head explode after only a week. so, i’m going to start using the schweser’s alot more… but people in office say that the exam moves more and more away from schweser’s each year. anyone have opinion as to how well a bright person could do using only schweser’s (not what i’m advocating/planning, just curious). have they started getting more nit-picky the last few years on the exams. most of the concepts are very straight-forward, but then they get into so many IF scenarios. like the first reading in the FSA section. “accounting for investments”. it’s practically incomprehensible. thanks in advance!! i think we need a few threads where people who made it thru level 2 recently answer some questions…

Okay - I didn’t make it throught L2 last year but know someone who worked in the business for many years who did pass with flying colors and he highly recommended Schweser notes plus tapping into their question bank. I utilized two other sources for questions last year, in addition to CFAI, and I’m finding that the Schweser QBank is simply grand. Of course, CFAI will do whatever it takes to test us so one must always be ready for the unpredicatble. At this stage in he game, I don’t think you can do both but I would strongly recommend the problems at the end of the CFAI readings. All the best!