CFA suitable for commercial banking and financial advisory?

hi all, I am a corporate financial analyst in financial services firm. My job requires me to do business valuation reports, feasibility studies, financial modelling/forecasting and banking memorandums. In future, as the company grows it will also include M&A and writing IPO’s prospectus. I’d like to have the opinion whether having CFA is relevant to my current job. and will my experience fulfill the criteria of work experience required for CFA. I want to remain in same type of job or at the most move into credit rating agencies or commercial banking. I am not that interested getting deep into asset management or IB. If CFA is not an answer, then which certification/degree be better- MBA/CPA/MSC (FIN)

well…CFA stands for “Chartered Financial Analyst”… so I think so… :slight_smile: By the way, I am planning to make the same move as well!

Hi there My current job is fairly similar to what you seem to be doing and I have an MBA and am doing CFA L1 this year. In my experience both are good backgrounds to have though the CFA shines during more hardcore analysis, but for smooching investors and writing reports the MBA is more useful.

Hi there My current job is fairly similar to what you seem to be doing and I have an MBA and am doing CFA L1 this year. In my experience both are good backgrounds to have though the CFA shines during more hardcore analysis, but for smooching investors and writing reports the MBA is more useful.

sumz, your job and cfa are good complements. There are some synergies… I’m a quant (financial advising) as well and do L1.