CFA texts and own notes?

I just started studying saturday and spent about 4 hours each day so far studying. Ive been reading over the material once, then taking notes, but it seems to be way too time consuming taking all the notes. how are you guys going about this? are some of you actually reading through the CFAi texts and taking notes as you go? What do you think is best? a. read through CFAi text and take notes as I go (to later review 4-6 weeks out) b. read through CFAi text then order study notes from like schweser or something to study after Im done reading c. your opinions? you think its best to read through the material (highlighting some items) and then worry about study notes after that?

Im reading and taking notes from Schweser and doing Qbank problems at the end of each topic. Im not touching CFAI text apart from ethics. There’s not enough time in the day to read CFAI text, let alone take notes from it!

if i decide to read the CFAi texts and not take notes…is it safe to then order the schweser notes after im done reading and then use that as a review?

Hell, cccafrey if you read the CFAI notes just take a few notes down as flashcards/underline as you go along!!It’s a lot safer aand less time consuming than going through a fresh set of notes… No harm as such except that it’s a fresh perspective on a specific text which is not always helpful but is invariably time consuming. :slight_smile: My $0.02…

I’ve been reading the CFAi texts and taking my own notes (usually about 1-2 pages per reading). I find writing out summaries of the concepts forces me to actively think about the subject rather than memorize a few high level concepts. Granted, I started studying in November. If I were starting studying now, I’d ditch the CFAi texts and go with Schweser. But if you have the time, getting the fuller concept through the CFA texts should also better position you for levels 2 and 3 as concepts continue to build.