CFA with no accounting background

Hello Guys, I have been going through CFA materials and I plan to take it on this June. I encountered with one of my finance professors today with whom I was taking finance elective class called “Financial management”. Since the Financial Management course required a perquisite class called “Accounting 101” he hesitated to sign me in for that class. ( I never took any accounting class since I am a mathematics major with economics minor) So i told him that “I am preparing for CFA exams so I think I would be able to manage it” and then he goes “Wait you are planning to CFA exams and you havent had any accounting background”. Then he started how tough it would be for me to pass CFA exams if i have no accounting background and basically he said I cant do it on my own. But I thought one can manage on your own to prepare for CFA exams. Am I getting something wrong over here or he is just scaring me here. Is Accounting section (Financial reporting and analysis) that bad for CFA level I that any student with no accounting background will have to go through a lot of struggling.

Many people pass the CFA exams with no accounting background.

No he’s totally wrong. The wording and terms used in L1 is very commonplace. And plus accounting 101 where you learn debits/credits/trial balance/journal garbage isn’t even on the CFA exams. Don’t worry about it.

FSA in Level 1 is quite basic and i don’t think you really need any accounting background to master it. I wouldn’t worry about it.

Thank you so much guys!

I took an accounting class in high school, so I was over prepared. :slight_smile:

Well honestly the financial statement analysis portion of the exam can be pretty brutal, but it is less about accounting and more about understanding complex financial relationships. A number of CPAs I’ve known over the years thought they were all too cool for school and didn’t have to study FSA, and then FAIL.