CFAI Materials HELP!

I’m studying the CFAI materials. I am on Book 3 Analysis and reporting. I have been on this volume over a week. Does anyone else find that they are reading what seems like a straightforward concept, then the example comes and you don’t know what they are talking about when they move to an example? I am not a dumb person, but it’s like they are teaching me basic math in the text and asking me to do trigonometry with the info a sentence later. Any ideas? Do notes like Schweser make the concepts more easily understandable?

Well, it should take you more than a week per book. I have been following the rule of 1 study session per week. But, that’s not really your question. I’m preparing for my first run at Level I in December and I used the CFAI materials for Quant and Econ, and I just switched to Schweser for FRA. I like both in their own ways - CFAI is more verbose and provides examples, while Schweser condenses it down and gets through it more quickly. I must admit, if anything, I occasionally feel the way you described more so with the Schweser notes - they illustrate a seemingly simple concept and then ask you to solve a very intricate example without much explanation. I did not really feel that way with CFAI, as I thought they eased you into most topics with thorough explanation. Based on what you said in your OP, the only thing I can think of is to try slowing it down a little and reading each example more carefully (I think 1 week per book is way too fast), but you should already be doing that.