CFAI text : V2, R18

Can anyone advise how to answer to the LOS c & d ? I am very much confused by the answers in Schweser’s study note and I can not find the exact answers to the 2 LOSs in CFAI’s text too.

Here are some thoughts on LOS C for this reading and how I studied it: Justifying absolute performance: 1) Investor specifies a desired min spending level during retirement. 2) PM creastes a min. required return and provides various asset allocations 3) Each allocation is presented to the investor with possible max and min return that can be translated into a sustainable lifestyle. 4) Gives the investor a hard dollar figure to work with and build expectations. Justifying cash flow matching 1) If a client’s individual goals can be stated in exact amounts, cash flow matching can be preferred utilizing a laddered bond strategy 2) Bonds are purchased w/maturities matching the target dates scuh that the maturity of one bond combined with cash flows from laonger-term bonds meet each cash flow. This is a start at least.

Hi, FastEd : Thank you very much for your immediate response. Do you think that both the absolute performance (a strategy ?) and cash flow matching (a strategy ?) are the two strategies of Lifestyle Protection Strategies (as stated on P.303~P304) ? What is the “Asset Allocation Approach” as stated in Schweser’s study note ? Is it one of the “Lifestyle Protection Strategies” or one of the “Fixed Horizon Strategies” ? Your further advice will be appreciated !

AMC - I don’t have my books in front of me or my notes. I’ll get back to you on this one in a few days. FYI - I took the exam last year and it appears that the LOS is virtually the same as 2009 so keep that in mind. My page references will be a little different as well. But I’ll be in touch.