CFAI Topic Tests

Candidates:

Are the CFAI Topic Tests all vignette, or are some of them in item set format? I am just beginning now and am wondering what they are. Also, is too early to begin the 6 Schweser exams or past CFA exams if the preliminary study is concluded?

Thanks!

Yes, they are all in item set format. Starting to practice AM/constructed response format is never too early.

okay-so i have a bunch of old exams 2010-2016, like the majority of candidates do, and schweser’s q-bank constructed response an their 6 mocks. i have done the q-bank C.R. questions, multiple choice, class discussion questions (schweser) and Schweser EoC, but have not taken the Schweser practice exams nor the past exams nor any official mock.

at this juncture, what is the best way to get more constructed response? does it make sense to purchase something from finquiz.com or another prep company? or just tackle all 32 End of chapter questions in the CFAI books? I have not done that yet…

a little overwhelmed. thanks for the advice.

Agree with Onward.

Based on what I heard, it is recommended to use some exact same morning papers to write a couple of times since that is the good way to get comfortable doing the essay questions.

I have the Kaplan Constructed response questions and in class discussions as well. Didn’t even touch those since there are plenty of previous real exams I can use. I have 2009-2016 so 7 of them on top of Kaplan 6 full exams. So, I will will feel lucky if I finish all of them and do some twice in addition to the EOCs and topics tests by exam day. At this point, I finished EOCs, most topics test and first Kaplan mock and 2012 paper.

Not too early. I’ve done Schweser first mock and CFAIs 2014 AM exam so far. Well, obviously all BBs and EOCs too.

BBs back of the book?

and many thanks googs, onward, and dududu