Chicago! Help

I just got an awesome job (somewhat quant) with a very respectable financial services company in Chicago. It feels so good! I graduated a month ago from a very average school, and majored in Finance. I got the job, cuz I knew someone high up in the company. Anyways, need to keep my expenses as low as possible for the next couple of years. My gf and I are looking to move in together. We are looking for a one bedroom apartment in Chicago or its suburbs. Those familiar with the city and its burbs: Could you recommend some CHEAP AND SAFE neighborhoods/suburbs of Chicago? Ideally, I’d like to keep my rent + gas/electric under $800.

Thanks in advance!

Kick it up to 1,000 and live in Lincoln Park, wrigleyville, Lakeview, Wicker Park, Bucktown. That additional couple hundred will be worth it in terms of a short commute and quality of life.

$800 per person, or $800 total?

Good luck finding a 1 bedroom for $800. We pay $2000 for a 1 bedroom.

I’m in Chicago & pay $2290 for a 1 bedroom + $245 to park the car…12 minute walk to work though :slight_smile:

How does this work out in Chicago? Lets say you make $80k, that’s $50k after tax, which is $20k after housing, which is about $1700 per month. Is that enough for all other expenses? … phone, food, insurance, clothing, entertainment, education, etc?