Choice between 2 job offers. Help me decide!

Hi guys, I am in a very difficult and awkward situation. I graduated several months ago (have several months of internships) and this monday (7.01.08) I started working for a small investment intermediary as a risk & compliance manager. The position itself is new to the company so currently I am helping the firm to become compliant with several financial regulations. Future responsibilities include managing the risk profile of the firm’s portfolio, calculating VaR, reporting in front of the financial services supervisor etc. However, I received another job offer to work as an M&A analyst for a consulting firm that has significant position in the local M&A market. I would like to hear your perspectives on the issue, and possibly advise me on which job has a better chance of being recognized as an appropriate work experience by the CFAI as I am in pursuit of the CFA charter (currently level I candidate). I would also want to hear what is the typical career path for an M&A analyst (which in this case is more of a starting/junior position). I know it is up to me to decide but others’ opinions can be quite valuable as well. Besides, even if I decide to join as an m&a, I don’t know how I will get the courage to leave my current job as my colleagues are very supportive and rely on me to assist them on compliance issues. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated!

M&A job

Risk & Compliance? If you can ditch the Compliance part; I’d go for the Risk part of the job. You don’t want to be doing compliance, trust me, it’s as boring as hell. Risk is my biggest hobby. If Compliance is an integral part of your job, go for M&A. Note: I love my job in risk management so take it for what it’s worth.