CMT

Any buyside analysts out there considering the CMT (Chartered Market Technician)? I currently work in a fundamental, not quant, hedge fund. I used to believe TA is just a bunch of baloney, partly because of the “rational” (quotes emphasized) market b-school professors that have influenced my thinking over the past 7 years since I graduated. I don’t ever plan to become a trader but I am starting to believe that the knowledge might actually be useful and complementary to more fundamental approach. I am wondering if, all else being equal, a CFA CMT would be looked upon more desirably than an individual who i just a CFA or if the CMT doesn’t really add much. Anyhow, would love to hear thoughts and experiences, particularly from anyone who possesses both a CFA-CMT or is currently pursuing both.

I am taking CMT Level 1 in October. Reasons being a) exemption from Series 86 if you pass Level 1 and 2, and b) learn technical analysis tools for short term trading in personal account

Haven’t considered the CMT but I have been looking at the CMA (link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Certified_Market_Analyst) as something I may be interested in doing ex-post CFA. Anyone else look into this designation? The initial requirements seem very high and are what has attracted me (i.e. no little undergrad students sitting for the exams).