Coding/Programming skills

Just curious about how many of you know how to code or have an interest in coding. I’ve began to notice that more and more finance guys are making the shift into tech, especially after they acquire some good capital from working in finance. An example of this is the founders of Ampush Media who used to be investment bankers and eventually shifted to tech because they wanted to build a company. They had to learn everything from scratch because they were total noobs and only had experience in finance.

Obviously they hired engineers for the technical aspect and mainly focused on the business development side.

But I guess I am trying to find out if it’s worth gaining deep programming knowledge or just focus on finance/business development and hire others to handle the technical side. Would a basic understanding of coding prevent you from being overcharged by programmers/engineers for their services?

Would you recommend learning code simultaneously with finance, or would it be best to completely focus on finance now and then learn code later after I’ve acquired a good amount of capital, have more time, etc?

Basic programming knowledge is useful, but there is a big gap between casual learners and real CS people with years of experience. So, if you go out on your own, you will probably still need to hire engineers.

However, basic programming knowledge is useful in many finance positions. You will be able to automate work and maybe solve complex math problems. Depends on what you do.

I see. I figured it is best to focus on what you are good at, especially since there are people out there that have been programming since they were in diapers. The problem is that I’m really competitive and hate not knowing something lol. Everytime I look at Google’s stock price, I have a craving to learn programming.