College Students writing in December

Is anyone writing level 1 in December still in undergrad? Im a fourth year finance student at a University in Canada, wondering where other such students are in their CFA studies. I’m finding that studies for school and CFA studying are becoming more difficult to manage concurrently as the semester progresses. I’m taking portfolio theory and derivatives at school as well though, so hopefully I will gain some benefit from the overlapping topics. Is there any competitive advantage in gaining employment having passed level 1 before graduating Uni?

Of course. All else equal, a prospective employer would prefer a Level II candidate to someone not in the CFA program. I’m fighting the urge to put “duh” at the end of this post. Anyways, good luck on Level I.

To clarify, I meant to ask whether there would be any real advantage to having passed in december 07 while still in school, rather that june 08 having recently graduated.

What does it matter? You pass in December or you pass in June. I passed in June and I graduate this December. Its not like you pass it and three months later it goes away.

Yeah, it is tough with time management. I’m a senior at the University of Michigan, and I’ll also be taking it this December. I’m pretty behind with my CFA studying, but I’m really going to push hard given that there’s 7 weeks left. Unlike most of the people here, we have no company that’s sponsoring us and paying for all of our Schweser notes and exam fees. I didn’t spend about $1,500 for nothing. I’m determined to kick ass come December 1st. See if you can some MBA students who may also be taking the exam this December. Good luck.

My company didn’t sponsor the CFA program either - I guess I better pass.

Reviewing Ethics today, still have to read Fixed Income, Derivatives, and finish FSA 4. 36 days left…