Combination of the CPA and CFA

First question - I am currently a CPA, and have seen the benefit that other CPA’s recieve that hold both the CPA and CFA license/ charter. For example, it improves a CPA’s ability to assess and perform valuations of businesses, financial instruments, goodwill impairment, etc. I was hoping that someone could provide the reverse view and point out any benefits that a CFA charterholder would have by also having a CPA license. **assuming that the CPA works in a traditional CPA field like public accounting, or industry accounting, and the CFA works in a traditional CFA role like valuations, research, etc. Second question - I know that work experience also impacts the following, but would a CFA charterholder be qualified to perform a valuation of a business that would potentially be purchased by another company?

Hi Miguel, I’m a CPA and have a Series 7 and 24 license so I am in the exact same boat as you are. I haven’t been able to get much insight because most have either one or the other. Both are very difficult exams and I think after passing one, most don’t even want to be bothered with the other or are looking to stay in accounting or finance. After looking at some of the CFA questions, I would say that the CPA would have a better understanding on what types of transactions would impact financial statement items. A CPA would have a more granular understanding on the numbers of the financials than the CFA. However, the CFA can analyze a company’s financial statements at a level not tested on the CPA exam. I would think that both designations definitely complement each other really well. To answer your second question, I would say yes. At valuing a business, a CFA would be as good as an ABV accreditation. Anybody else?

Maybe after passing level 1. But the CFA is designed for investment and portfolio management, not necessarily a body of knowledge for valuation. If it was I Banks would recruit more CFA’s.